BiotechBiotech in the lab

Maastricht’s leading role in one of Europe’s leading life-science districts convinced executives at the European Federation of Biotechnology (EFB) to choose the city for its 2020 congress.

The European Congress on Biotechnology is the longest established congress in biotechnology and typically attracts more than a thousand international delegates from academia and industry.

The scientific programme covers the spectrum of biotechnologies, reflecting the EFB’s mission to promote the safe, sustainable and ethical use of biological systems for the benefit of mankind.

Maastricht is home to the BioPartner Center,  an incubator for start-up companies and  part of a rapidly growing ‘life-science triangle’ bordering the Netherlands, Germany and Belgium.

Based at the Maastricht Health Campus, BioPartner Center Maastricht  has become a successful breeding ground for Biotechnology, Medical Imaging and Neuroscience companies.

Jeff Cole, VP, EFB and chair of the organising committee, said: “Following a competitive process, we are delighted to confirm Maastricht as our host destination for ECB 2020. We were impressed with the local organising committee from the Dutch Biotechnology Society who committed their time and connections to ensure we have an outstanding scientific programme and the support of industry. The strength of Maastricht as a biotechnology hub will be an attraction for our delegates.”

The successful bid was led by Jurgen Moors, managing director, Maastricht Convention Bureau and Jordy Rijksen, business development manager at congress venue MECC Maastricht.

In a joint statement, they said: “Everything our city has to offer, the proactive local congress community and the fact that the Maastricht Region is a European hub in the field of biotechnology were decisive criteria for the Executive Board of the European Federation of Biotechnology.”

The biennial congress circulates to cities that are centres of excellence in biotech and life-science. The ECB2018 congress will be in Geneva from 1 – 4 July 2018.